Simple Flying - Daniel Martinez Garbuno

The country has introduced new safety measures for people traveling to and from Lima International Airport.

The Political instability and ongoing protests in Peru following the failed coup d’État from former president Pedro Castillo have led to the temporary closure of at least five airports throughout the country. Peru’s primary hub, Lima International Airport (LIM), remains open. Several airlines, such as Avianca, LATAM, and Sky Airline, have announced measures to protect their clients.

Until Thursday, five airports had closed due to the ongoing protests in the country. These airports are Andahuaylas (ANS), Arequipa (AQP), Juliaca (JUL), Cuzco (CUZ), and Ayacucho (AYP). Regularly, these airports have close to 500 weekly flights operated by four airlines, Sky Airline, JetSMART, LATAM Airlines, and Viva Peru. Lima International, the main gateway of the country, remains open.

Full Article